I don't know who to thank

Luanne

Re: I don't know who to thank

Post by Luanne »

First it takes motivation!
Then it takes more time than you expected it too, but it's all worth it!

We realized the program we were using was free on the internet. so 'Admin' looked into it to see if we could make it work for us, or if it was too complicated. She set up the basics, and had to get back to her real job. So she sent the information to me, and I started playing around, tweeking it.

She paid a computer company (the host company) to keep all our stuff on one of their 'server' computers. Think of the server as the big memory that holds everything. If something goes wrong, they have to fix it, and they have many many people who work all the time. Which we could never devote ourselves to 100%, plus, that's not what we do.

So we are responsible for what the site looks like (Catagories, posts, members) and the Server company keeps it all safe for us, so it doesn't disappear. As for cost, 'Admin' covered it for the first year, I believe. It was the best sign on deal to go for a year, so that's what she did. So, this year is a gift. There was talk of adding a place to donate when the dues were coming up, but that's not to worry about for awhile.

Hope that answers your questions!
pbp908

Post by pbp908 »

I paid for the web hosting for the marching band's website for four years - wasn't much but now they have to do it - we graduated. LOL. It's not that expensive, and a lot of us have offered to help cover the cost when it's time to renew this one. I saw a brief blurb the other day on the welcome page but now it's gone? I think if you post that when the time is close to renew, you'll be able to host this site for the next 100 years!

BTW - the new welcome page is great.

Pam
Pam P.
Number 5 In the Order of PAO

http://www.pamsmeanderingthoughts.blogspot.com
bethrich

Post by bethrich »

I second that. The home page rocks!
:clap:
ChristyB

Post by ChristyB »